When ministering ministers to you

I hung it on my office wall because I wasn’t ready to throw it away.

I hung it on my office wall because I put so much time into the worship I plan, and then the actual worship goes by so quickly.

Whether a worship activity flops or flies, it’s still so hard to let go of after the fact. It’s hard to believe how small a thing it can seem to others, my Big Idea or my Long Term Project.

– – –

But I didn’t hang it on the wall because I needed it.

I didn’t hang it on the wall because in the planning and set-up and facilitating it can be hard to find time to sink in myself.

I didn’t hang it on the wall for those reasons because I didn’t know they were true.

But then the week got difficult and my heart was heavy, and I saw it: that prayer chain my youth group made for a late-night worship service last week. Hanging on my office wall.

– – –

I walked over to it and read some of the prayers they had written for peace and unity, and my soul was flooded.

How precious and prophetic are the voices of young people in our churches. Their vision is incisive, cutting to the very heart of the matter. Their love is deep and wide and welcoming, in a way the church’s often struggles to be.

I stood there in my office, reading their prayers, and I worshiped. And I felt my heart held and nourished by the words that weren’t meant for me but still were.

I realized then that I hung that prayer chain on my office wall because we are in this together — connected, linked. Our worship is amplified by each other.

In the end, those to whom I minister are no less ministering to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Faith Journey, Spirituality

Leave a Reply

