A long walk

In this world without quiet corners, there can be no easy escapes…
from hullabaloo, from terrible, unquiet fuss.
-Salman Rushdie

It’s been rainy in New England.

I’m adjusting still to a new place, a new community, a new home. I needed some time last weekend to wander in the woods and let the quiet seep into my heart.

The clouds feel like welcome friends, come to accompany me on the journey, come to hush the world while I find some space to think.

So I gave myself some extra time in the woods.

It’s a long walk from home to home, from Berkeley to Boston, from leaving to settling in. I still get lost almost every time I leave my block.

And little by little, I let my mental map expand, to include new neighborhoods, new coffee shops, new highways.

But the woods are still home, and I’m restless and unsure until I make my way back to them.

For today, there are no stories to tell.

There are only whispered prayers, and rustling leaves, and long walks in the woods.

How are you escaping the terrible, unquiet fuss this week?

Please take time to go visit:

2 Comments

Filed under Musings, Spirituality

2 responses to “A long walk

  1. this place is always a quiet corner. may there be both quiet and community in your new home, friend.

  2. oh friend, i love coming here. it’s like taking a long, beautiful walk in the woods with a good friend.

Leave a Reply

