Attending to stillness

Be still, and know that I am God.
Psalm 46:10

The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to keep still.
Exodus 14:14

Too busy to wait

We’re not even a week into Advent, and I’ve already stopped waiting.

Of course, I have all kinds of excuses… I’m really busy. I work a lot of hours at an exhausting job that involves being active all day with elementary school kids. I have a lot of regular commitments that take up my weeknights. I get up early to run a few mornings a week. Holiday parties and to-dos have filled my schedule this month.

My life is full of all kinds of good things.

But this week, as I ran from one appointment to another, I found myself hurrying, rushing. It wasn’t just that my schedule was busy — my heart was busy.

And it felt completely un-Advent.

Sure, I went to late-night church services, I prayed in the mornings, and I spent time in the Word. I opened the little windows on my Advent calendar.

But the space of my heart sanctuary didn’t feel expectant or patient, the way a waiting heart should feel. It felt chaotic and distracted.

Reminders of the season

As I’ve been reflecting on my hurried heart, I’ve been reminded of these verses from the Isaiah reading from last Sunday:

From ages past no one has heard, no ear has perceived,
no eye has seen any God besides you,
who works for those who wait for him.
You meet those who gladly do right,
those who remember you in your ways.
Isaiah 64:4-5

Advent is a reminder of these important lessons.

Our good and gracious God is working for us, we have only to wait for him. God is fighting for us, we have only to be still in trust.

We have only to quiet our hearts amidst the hectic comings and goings of life to remember God’s ways, to know God’s character, and God will meet us there.

What a beautiful promise.

Only one week in to this season of Advent, I am already grateful for that reminder.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advent 2011, My Faith Journey, Spirituality

Leave a Reply

