A few small stones

It doesn’t have to be
the blue iris, it could be
weeds in a vacant lot, or a few
small stones; just
pay attention, then patch

a few words together and don’t try
to make them elaborate, this isn’t
a contest but the doorway

into thanks, and a silence in which
another voice may speak.
(Mary Oliver, “Praying” from Thirst)

I am looking forward to some new exciting things on Diligent Leaves in the next week(s): guest bloggers, deep theological conversation, book reviews, continued reflections on sheep-living and Shepherd-following, and hopefully some stories from some of my crazy adventures over the past few years.

But for today, just some poetry and thanksgiving, with the wonderful community at A Holy Experience. I’m so thankful to the Shepherd for:

22. The healing, transformative, comforting power of prayer

23. Old relationships, re-connected and re-kindled

24. The passing of time, the celebration of an anniversary

25. More job opportunities and hope for the future

26. Constant reminders to be open to unexpected, impossible provision

27. The telling of stories, the laughter and contemplation that follows

28. New blog friends

29. Still, scripture, opening my heart and mind to new ideas and truths

30. Celebration and rewards for hard-won accomplishments

31. Security, finally. consistently, at last. steadfastness, faithfulness.

32. My teachers, and my teachers’ teachers, and my teachers’ teachers’ teachers.

33. The chance to play!

34. Get-up-and-go music on tired mornings

Friends… what’s coming up for you in the next few weeks for which you’re anxious or excited? What scripture is speaking into your life right now? What are you thankful for? What small stones of words have you been patching together lately to express your heart? Feel free to share some of those offerings here with us!

source

6 Comments

Filed under Musings, Poetry

6 responses to “A few small stones

  1. Your #22 is a biggie! And #28 is a biggie with me also:) You’ll find my small stones of words over at my place, the pond .
    Visiting from Ann’s place today. So glad I came over.

  2. Karen Lebacqz

    What a joy to see “Diligent Leaves.” Mary Oliver is one of my favorites — and speaks to some who would never darken the door of church or synagogue or mosque! bless you for this website! Carry it on….

  3. Catherine Love

    I’m so glad you stopped by Love Living Simply, I am enjoying your blog … lovely list of blessings today 🙂 .

  4. I love your blog! Thanks for stopping by mine – I WILL be back!

Leave a Reply

